#BLOGTOUR | More Than A Game – Ralph Robb @RalphSRobb @rararesources @gilbster1000 #amreading #bookblogger #bookreview

Hi everyone!

Welcome to my tour stop for More Than A Game by Ralph Robb. Thank you to Rachel’s Random Resources for my stop on the tour! Check out my review and let me know what you think.


Sabina Park Rangers is the first team of black players to reach the final of the Watney’s Challenge Cup. But coach Horace McIntosh has more selection problems than most. The First Division champions want to sign one of his best players – and right up until the day of the match he is uncertain that he will have a team for the biggest game in the club’s history because of arrests, a scam and an atmosphere of impending violence.


Review:

My reading goal for 2019 was to read books I wouldn’t normally reach for. More Than A Game is one that I likely wouldn’t have read if I hadn’t made that a goal. I’m glad I was able to read. This story is much more than a story about sports.

It’s a fascinating, authentic portrayal of the West Indian-British community in the early 1980s. I love how this is written because it definitely feels well-researched. I could vividly see the setting and how life was in that time period. Ralph Robb has a gift for creating the correct atmosphere and I am very impressed!

More Than A Game is a mix of historical fiction, sport, and crime. I think it worked really well, and it was engaging! I definitely think this is worth the read and recommend checking it out!

Rating:

4/5☆


Ralph Robb was born and raised in the industrial town of Wolverhampton, England, and now lives in Ontario, Canada with his wife, two cats and a dog. A proud father of four, Robb works as an engineering technician and loves rugby, martial arts and of course a good book. His world is balanced by his obsession with comic books, quality TV, global events and the great outdoors.

Web * Facebook * Twitter

Hosted By:

Rachel’s Random Resources

Let me know what you think!

cropped-picsart_05-29-062934312725806322485-1.jpg
Twitter|Instagram|Facebook|Patreon|Goodreads|Pinterest|Etsy

Posted

in

by

Comments

One response to “#BLOGTOUR | More Than A Game – Ralph Robb @RalphSRobb @rararesources @gilbster1000 #amreading #bookblogger #bookreview”

  1. Ralph Robb Avatar

    Hi Jessica – I would like to thank you all again, for taking the time to review my book ‘More Than A Game’.
    I’d like to turn your attention to a Podcast that discusses the contents of the book, you might find interesting.

    ralphrobb.com/podcast

    Thanks Again
    Ralph Robb

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.