#BLOGTOUR | The Good Wife – Eleanor Porter @elporterauthor @boldwoodbooks @rararesources @gilbster1000 #bookblogger #bookreview #amreading

Where will her loyalty lead her?

Once accused of witchcraft Martha Spicer is now free from the shadow of the gallows and lives a safe and happy life with her husband, Jacob. But when Jacob heads north to accompany his master, he warns Martha to keep her healing gifts a secret, to keep herself safe, to be a good wife.

Martha loves Jacob but without him there to protect her, she soon comes under the suspicious eye of the wicked Steward Boult, who’s heard of her talent and forces her to attend to him. If she refuses, he promises to destroy the good life she has built for herself with Jacob.

Desperate and alone, Martha faces a terrible decision: stay and be beholden to Boult or journey north to find Jacob who is reported to have been killed.. The road ahead is filled with danger, but also the promise of a brighter future. And where her gifts once threatened to be her downfall, might they now be the very thing that sets Martha free…?

The brilliant follow-up to Eleanor Porter’s first novel of love, betrayal, superstition and fear in Elizabethan England. A story of female courage, ingenuity and determination , this is perfect for fans of Tracy Chevalier.

Purchase


Review:

The Good Wife by Eleanor Porter is a follow up to her other novel, The Wheelwright’s Daughter, which I reviewed here. I think it was nice to have read the first novel, however, Elabor Porter‘s writing is excellent, and I think reading this as a standalone would also work.

I’ve gained an interest in historical fiction over the last year or so. The amount of research is clear, and the writing feels authentic because of it. I love being transported back in time, and that is what happens in The Good Wife.

While this book is not fast-paced, the love between Martha and Jacob, as well as Martha’s journey of growth is compelling and emotional. The decisions she must make, and her gifts are all very intriguing. And because of those things, I didn’t need this to be fast. I enjoyed the journey.

I enjoyed this one. If historical fiction is your thing, you won’t want to miss out.

Rating:

4/5☆

*I received a free copy of this book from Rachel’s Random Resources to review honestly on the blog tour. All opinions are my own and unbiased.*


Eleanor Porter has lectured at Universities in England and Hong Kong and her poetry and short fiction has been published in magazines. The Wheelwright’s Daughter was her first novel.

Twitter | Facebook | Newsletter sign up | Instagram


Rachel’s Random Resources

Let me know what you think in the comments. I’d love to interact with you. If this sounds like something you would read, let me know!

Linktr.ee (All links!)

You can support me by buying me a book.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.