BOOK REVIEW & INTERVIEW | Snowday – B.R. Maycock

Hey everyone!

Today, I’m reviewing Snowday by Bernadette Maycock! Bernadette was also awesome enough to answer some questions for us!


Sometimes hot cocoa just isn’t enough to keep you warm in the snow…
Eloise is too busy juggling the chaos of three kids, an ever present ex-husband and a demanding boss to even remember the last time dating crossed her mind.

But as soft snow falls silently all around, romance twinkles with the flakes.

After being single for so long, Eloise suddenly has a lot of choices. Too many choices. Will anyone be worthy of melting the guard around her heart to let love in?

A fun-filled, festive read for fans of Christie Barlow, Fiona Gibson and Colleen Coleman.

Amazon UK | Amazon US | Universal Buy Link

Review:

I had a difficult time setting down Snowday once I started reading.

I loved the characters in this book. B.R. Maycock has crafted relatable and engaging characters. Elise’s life is not perfect, but her journey in Snowday is so relatable you feel as though you are her.

There were lots of laughs and romance in this one. It makes you feel warm and fuzzy inside, which is exactly what you would expect from a book like this. I recommend checking it out!

Rating:

4/5☆


Interview with Bernadette Maycock

What was the inspiration behind Snowday?

Snowday actually started with the main character Eloise, a warm, positive, strong character that pushes on through the mundanity and lunancy of everday life trying not to be dragged down.

How long did it take you to write Snowday?

It was started last Christmas then put on the back burner due to both blogging (I review books) and another book I was working on. I had always wanted to write a Christmas book and when the snow came to Ireland and stayed for four months (never happens here!) I figured someone somewhere was telling me to get my you-know-what in gear! So in total ten months.

What is your favorite part of the writing process? Least favorite?

I have a love-hate relationship with all parts. I love the planning, where you’ve so many ideas and possibility is all around, I love when you’re in the depths of a story and all is flowing, I love when you find solutions to road blocks and when you’re editing and your work is beginning to resemble something you think you’d enjoy reading and I love the extreme fine tuning at the end. I also hate each of these parts when they’re not going to plan!!!

Is writing a hobby or a career for you?

I hope for it to be a career (so much I can’t even tell you!) . I really really want to earns a living from my books and to have a collection people can go to to pick a book for when they’re in a certain humour, or at different stages of their life.

What do you do when you’re feeling uninspired?

I play with the kids and try to forget it all or I listen to music or watch comedy. Comedy inspires me!

Who is your biggest supporter?

My husband is my biggest supporter and hindrance in equal measures. He tells me I’m inspiring and gives me motivational talks that most Ted Talk people would laud, and then other times he says ‘so I’m sitting on my own again tonight I guess?’ (Cue puppy dog eyes;)) My mum too, she’s the only person in the world who regularly asks me how the writing is going!

What is something unique your readers might not know about you?

I once did a paraglide. I’m pretty proud of that! I can still picture my dad sitting in the jeep with both me and the group running the paraglide. We were in Spain and I was 16 and we went up this old dirt track and my dad was hanging on for dear life. Afterwards he told me he was sure we were all going to die before we even got up to the mountain!

You’re a new addition to a crayon box. What color would you be and why?

Yellow. Yellow’s always a game changer

Are you working on another book? Can you give us a hint as to what it will contain or when it will be available?

So I’m working on two at the moment. I have one I’m hoping to get a book deal with that I might self publish this year if I’m not successful, it’s a series about a girl who decides to brighten up her town with a lotto win, not realising the locals have other plans for the cash. The other is a comedy that is actually the second of the Riverside books (Snowday was the first) and it’s called ‘The Day The Lights Went out’ and it’s about a mother who realises her marriage isn’t as strong as she thought it was. I’m hoping fr that to be out this year too.

Do you have any advice for new writers?

Before you start writing choose some words that describe what you want your writing to be. Always re-read with this/ these words in mind. (Mine are sparkling and funny, and when I feel I’m losing either I take a break and re-work)

Also write a one page synopsis that briefly outlines your story so you know where you’re headed and interview your characters (you’ll find some good sample interviews online) so you know everything about them before you start.

Well, Jessica, thanks so much for having me, it was an absolute pleasure to be over!

— Thanks for being here!!! ❤


When Bernadette Maycock isn’t dreaming up vibrant leads for romantic comedies, she’s ingesting books for her blog, in particular chick lit (her first love!) books, romantic comedies and thrillers. She can also be found playing footie or watching Marvel, DC or Star Wars movies and cartoons in Co. Westmeath, Ireland with her brilliantly out there husband, Keith, and their four epic little men.

Her debut ‘It Started With A Snub’ and Christmas romantic comedy ‘Snowday’ are available now on Amazon, and Bernadette is currently working on a three part series about AbbeyGlen Village, whose luck is about to change …

She has one goal and that’s simply to make readers smile and/ or laugh (a splutter rates highest;)).

Amazon | BRMaycock’s book blog |
Twitter | Goodreads | Facebook

Let me know what you think!

Thanks again, Bernadette!! ❤

|Twitter|Instagram|Facebook|Patreon|

4 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW & INTERVIEW | Snowday – B.R. Maycock

Leave a Reply to Jessica Rachow Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.